Return to Headlines

ACS Athletic Wall of Fame inducts new members!

Tiger logo


47 Bloomingdale Avenue • Akron, New York 14001 • (716)542-5010


               Mr. Kevin Shanley                                                        Mr. Justin Gerstung

          Superintendent of Schools                                              Wall of Fame Chairman

                 (716)542-5006                                                            (716)542-5088





AKRON, NEW YORK (October 18, 2018) – The Akron Central School Athletic “Wall of Fame” Committee welcomed the 2018 inductees to the ACS “Wall of Fame” during the induction ceremony held in the performance gymnasium during the school’s homecoming events on Friday, October 12, 2018.  This year’s inductees included four individual athletes with exceptional athletic careers, as well as one team induction.      

     Johnny Fiebelkorn The youngest individual recipient of this year’s inductees is Johnathan Fiebelkorn, a member of the Class of 2018 with an exemplary career in wrestling and football, who is added to the Wall of Fame posthumously.  Fiebelkorn, who passed away just before the start of his senior year in August 2017, is recognized for his exceptional athletic accomplishments that included three trips to the New York State Public High School Athletic Association’s state wrestling championship, with immediate induction to the Wall of Fame in 2018.
     Fielbelkorn played football for three years, serving as co-captain as a junior. But it was on the wrestling mat that Johnny particularly excelled, earning the team’s MVP patch four times, Niagara-Orleans All-League championship three times, and class and sectional championships each two times. He is also a member of the elite 100 Wins Club in addition to many more accolades that include being named Most Outstanding Wrestler at three separate tournament events.

     Jeremy Rushok of the Class of 2012 was inducted for his unprecedented legacy left to the cross Jeremy Rushok country and track teams.  As a harrier, Rushok made two trips to the NYSPHSAA state championship for Class C placing 28th as a junior in 2010 and 5th place as a senior in 2011.  He was named to the Niagara-Orleans League First Team two years, was Section VI Class C Champion, First Team All-WNY and Senior Runner of the Year in 2011.  Rushok was also named to the All-State 4th Team that year as well.  He was the team’s captain for two years and was selected MVP in 2010 and 2011.

     Still the current holder of seven track records, Jeremy excelled as a distance runner for the Tigers.  He was the Section VI Small School champion in the 1600M three years in a row.  He won the N-O League Championship in the 1600M and 3200M in 2012, took first place in the 1600M and second place in the 3200M in 2011, and contributed to the success of the relay teams, too.  Rushok was also selected MVP in 2012 and recognized as a leader among his teammates, serving as captain for three years.

     Rushok continued to run both cross country and track at Daemen College earning recognition in the East Coast Conference with several selections to first or second team All-Conference, as well as All-American USCAA 2nd Team in 2013.  He currently serves with the United States Coast Guard.

     Nicole Lobur A standout athlete from the Class of 2011, Nicole Lobur excelled on the soccer pitch, in the lanes of the pool and in track and field events.  For the girls soccer team, Lobur was named to the N-O All-League First Team in 2009 and 2010, was All-WNY Scholar Athlete in 2010 and named MVP in 2009.  She also served as team captain in 2009 and 2010.

     As a swimmer, she earned first place in the N-O League championship in 2007 and 2011, was team captain two years and was named MVP three years in a row.  She also qualified to compete in the Genesee Regional/N-O Crossover meet each of the five years she swam.
     Lobur was also a leading competitor on the girls track team where she was named MVP in 2010 and qualified to compete in Sectionals in 2010 and 2011.
     At Alfred University, Nicole was captain of the women’s soccer team for two years and was the team’s top goal-scorer in 2013.  She also competed with the Equestrian team, earning first place in regionals in 2015 and third place in the semi-finals the same year.

     Dennis Frey of the Class of 1991 excelled in football, basketball and track for the Tigers.  For Dennis Frey football, he was named Honorable Mention for the N-O All-League in 1989 and 2nd Team All-League in 1990. 
     A co-captain, Frey was a member of the 1990-91 Basketball team which had a 19-3 record, the most wins of any team at that time.  He earned selection to the N-O All League Second Team in 1990 and First Team in 1991.  Frey was also named Tournament MVP (Alden and Akron) in 1991 and the All-Tournament Team in 1990.

     Dennis was also a member of the track and field team where he served as co-captain and earned third place in the triple jump in 1991 at the N-O League Championships.

     Frey would go on to compete with the Bengals football team at Buffalo State College where he was the team’s starting kicker and had the most field goals in a game (3) against SUNY Cortland.

     In 1976-77, the Akron Tigersharks boys swim team were undefeated and won the Niagara-Orleans League championship.  Co-captains Mark Bramley and Richard Palizay led the Tigersharks as they swept 8 of 11 events at the league championship meet.  The boys, as well as Colleen Forrestel, the team’s female diver, went on to win the Class B Sectional Championship that year, setting two school records and one sectional record.
     76-77 Boys Swim Team In addition to Bramley, Palizay and Forrestel, the roster included David Borchert, Robert Brewer, Michael Dembrow, Brian Domon, David Farrell, David Finger, Steven Gates, Clint Gill, Richard Holovics, Philip Keppler, Paul Palizay, Mark Rohloff, Michael Ross, Dale Schultz, William “Skip” Sweeney, James Valente, Donald “Pat” Whiting, Michael Whiting and Joe Whitlocke.
     The team was coached by Carl Schleich and managed by Diane Brawdy.

     The Wall of Fame Committee was pleased at the large turn out for this year’s ceremony and the participation of the inductees in the annual Homecoming Parade through the village.  The ceremony is a unique opportunity to recognize exceptional athletes that have graduated from Akron Central Schools and who have become leaders in our communities.  It is also an event to re-acquaint and reminisce with fellow teammates from their days at ACS.    

     For questions or additional information, please contact Mr. Justin Gerstung, ACS Wall of Fame Committee Chairman, at (716)542-5040 ext. 6126.

# # #